Press release

TEGNA Wins 91 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, More Than Any Other Media Company

Sponsored by Businesswire

TEGNA Inc. (NYSE: TGNA) today won 91 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards,
the most in the company’s history and more than any other media company
this year. TEGNA won five awards for overall excellence, the highest
honor awarded, six for excellence in innovation and 11 for digital and
social content. In addition, seven awards were the direct result or
inspired by TEGNA’s dedicated innovation process to transform local news
in the digital age.

“I am continually inspired by the locally relevant and purpose-driven
work our colleagues at our stations are doing every day to serve the
greater good of their communities,” said Dave Lougee, president and CEO,
TEGNA. “As these honors illustrate, we are exposing wrongdoings, holding
the powerful accountable and helping bring change to those who need it
most through engaging and innovative content across platforms.”

WXIA in Atlanta, KUSA in Denver and KING in Seattle each won 10 Regional
Edward R. Murrow Awards. KING, WGRZ in Buffalo, WBIR in Knoxville, KARE
in Minneapolis and KREM in Spokane won for overall excellence.

TEGNA Regional Edward R. Murrow Winners:

  • WXIA – Atlanta, GA won 10 awards including excellence in innovation
  • KUSA – Denver, CO won 10 awards
  • KING – Seattle, WA won 10 awards including overall excellence and
    excellence in innovation
  • WBIR – Knoxville, TN won 8 awards including excellence in innovation
  • KARE – Minneapolis, MN won 8 awards including overall excellence
  • WFAA – Dallas, TX won 5 awards including excellence in innovation
  • KTVB – Boise, ID won 4 awards including excellence in innovation
  • KTHV – Little Rock, AR won 4 awards including excellence in innovation
  • KREM – Spokane, WA won 4 awards including overall excellence
  • WUSA – Washington, DC won 4 awards including excellence in innovation
  • WGRZ – Buffalo, NY won 3 awards including overall excellence
  • KGW – Portland, OR won 3 awards
  • KSDK – St. Louis, MO won 3 awards
  • WCNC – Charlotte, NC won 2 awards
  • KHOU – Houston, TX won 2 awards
  • WVEC – Norfolk, VA won 2 awards
  • KIDY – San Angelo, TX won 2 awards
  • KVUE – Austin, TX
  • KAGS – College Station, TX
  • WFMY – Greensboro, NC
  • WMAZ – Macon, GA
  • KENS – San Antonio, TX
  • WTOL – Toledo, OH

The Edward R. Murrow Awards are sponsored by the Radio Television
Digital News Association (RTDNA) and honor outstanding achievements in
broadcast and digital journalism.


TEGNA Inc. (NYSE: TGNA) is an innovative media company that serves the
greater good of our communities. With 49 television stations and two
radio stations in 41 markets, TEGNA delivers relevant content and
information to consumers across platforms. It is the largest owner of
top 4 affiliates in the top 25 markets, reaching one-third of all
television households nationwide. Each month, TEGNA reaches 50 million
adults on-air and approximately 35 million across its digital platforms.
TEGNA has been consistently honored with the industry’s top awards,
including Edward R. Murrow, George Polk, Alfred I. DuPont and Emmy
Awards. TEGNA also delivers innovative and unparalleled solutions for
advertisers through TEGNA
Marketing Solutions
(TMS). TMS is a one-stop shop that helps
businesses thrive through an unmatched suite of services and solutions
that reach consumers across television, email, social and over-the-top
(OTT) platforms, including Premion,
TEGNA’s OTT advertising service. Across platforms, TEGNA tells
empowering stories, conducts impactful investigations and delivers
innovative marketing solutions. For more information, visit