Press release

Graham Media Group Honored with Six Murrow Awards

Sponsored by Businesswire

Three Graham Media Group television stations are proud recipients of a
combined six Regional 2019 Edward R. Murrow Awards by the Radio
Television Digital News Association.

Houston’s KPRC 2 received three awards, including the highly coveted
Overall Excellence in Large Market Television which recognizes the
station’s commitment to quality journalism. KPRC’s entry in this
category featured examples of breaking news, investigations, and special
event coverage, as well as community service initiatives and digital

Another of KPRC 2’s Regional Murrow Awards was presented for Best News
Series in Large Market Television for “Inside
,” Anchor/Reporter Jacob Rascon’s
in-depth reports on the notoriously violent transnational gang, and the
evolving fight against it from El Salvador to Houston.

KPRC 2 News at 6PM was awarded Best Newscast in Large Market Television
for “Tragedy
in Santa Fe,
” which featured team coverage of the May 2018 school
shootings in Santa Fe, Texas. The KPRC team worked to provide complete
and compassionate coverage to their community in the immediate wake of
such a horrific event.

WDIV-Local 4/ClickOnDetroit received two awards, including Excellence in
Sound in Large Market Television for “Criss-Cross
,” a beautifully crafted story which exemplifies the art of
audio. WDIV-Local 4/ClickOnDetroit’s second Regional Murrow Award was
presented for Social Media in Large Market Television, recognizing
several examples including “Death
of Aretha Franklin
,” and “Meteor
in Michigan
,” to name a few. Their digital efforts offer
unparalleled social media coverage to provide useful, concise
information on topics important to our audience.

Roanoke’s WSLS 10 was recognized for Excellence in Innovation in Small
Market Television for “In
the Navy
,” a series featuring what it’s like to be a sailor for a
day with News Anchor John Carlin attempting the Navy’s water survival
training course.

“We’re honored by our team’s recognition by our peers in the Radio
Television Digital News Association,” said Graham Media Group President
& Chief Executive Officer Emily Barr. “Our main mission is to inform and
celebrate the communities we serve. We share these awards with our
viewers and the communities we so proudly cover.”

Graham Media Group’s six regional winning entries will now go on to the
national RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards judging round. Winners will be
announced in June, and presented at the annual RTDNA Edward R. Murrow
Awards Gala on October 14 in New York City.

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring
outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R.
Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of
excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of
electronic journalism.

Graham Media Group, a subsidiary of Graham Holdings Company (NYSE: GHC),
owns seven local television stations – each in a top-70 market and all
recognized as news leaders: KPRC–Houston, WDIV–Detroit and WSLS–Roanoke
(NBC); KSAT–San Antonio (ABC); WKMG–Orlando(CBS); WJXT–Jacksonville
(fully local), and WCWJ–Jacksonville (CW), as well as Social News Desk,
a leading provider of social media management tools designed to connect
newsrooms with their users.

The stations also broadcast digital channels focusing on classic
television and lifestyle programming, in addition to operating
market-leading websites, mobile sites and mobile apps delivering
breaking news, weather and community news, reaching millions of users
across each platform. All are deeply involved in local initiatives and
public service projects designed to serve, inform and improve their
respective communities.